Climate Bonds Initiative is an international, investor-focused not-for-profit. We're the only organisation working solely on mobilising the $100 trillion bond market for climate change solutions. We achieve this through the development of the Climate Bonds Standard and Certification Scheme, Policy Engagement and Market Intelligence work. We empower our Partner organisations with the tools and knowledge needed to navigate, influence, and instigate change.

Green Bonds Market 2021

Cumulative GB Issuance to date
US$1.273tn
2021 Issuance
(aligned with CBI definitions)
$242.3bn
Labelled bonds aligned with CBI definitions of 'Green'
$222.4bn
Labelled green bonds not aligned with CBI definitions (and excluded from 2021 Issuance)
$14.3bn
Jan
$ 22.196bn

Feb
$33.966bn

Mar
$54.694bn

Apr
$28.179bn

May
$35.291bn

Jun
$51.862bn

Jul
$16.155bn

Aug

Sep

Oct

Nov

Dec

2020 TOTAL
[last updated on 30th Apr 2021 ..more information]
$297bn

Subscribe

Blog

What’s it all about? Members of the Brazilian Green Finance Initiative (BGFI) gathered on June 17th...
Report Launch: Analysis of the Sustainable Agriculture Financing Market in Brazil  The Brazilian...
    Investidores internacionais se reúnem para discutir transição verde  Iniciativa Brasileira de...
      From Mexico to Kazakhstan to India: While our staff will not be speaking at physical events...

Subscribe

Climate Bonds Connected

khLNj8_KYZk
M2Q3FHJ_1wM
-_JkabwYQ9E
Wji1D8auwS8
JsyrH2cHJrs
4GELEyhAGBI
ruXLhpXvhOE
jem2cT9aNTY
hwEEubC_U0U
gn7-6iN9rho

Tweets

The Market

Tracking the climate-aligned bond market

Standard

Climate Bonds Standard: what qualifies as a green bond

Certification

Certified Climate Bonds & how to get certified

Partnerships

Join our collaborative network

Events

Aug 10, 2021

13:00 London / 14:00 Johannesburg

The webinar aims to cover key topics on energy transition in Africa, the role of green finance, the potential for an African new green deal, and highlight case studies from around the world. 

Supported by Agora and hosted in collaboration with the African Climate Foundation, the event will also mark the launch of the “Green Bonds in South Africa: How Green Bonds Can Support South Africa’s Energy Transition” Report, providing key insights to market practitioners in climate finance and renewable energy.

Sep 5, 2021

08:00 London / 09:00 Paris / 15:00 Beijing

MONDAY 06 SEPTEMBER  - TRAINING DAY 

Learning for Change 

Warming up to a full week of panel discussions, the Training Day offers a series of useful short masterclasses for conference participants. In this training programme you will learn all about CBI’s Certification scheme, including how to issue specific labelled bonds, reporting best practices and a special guest workshop. 
09:00 – 09:30
Conference Welcome
09:30 – 11:00
Guest Workshop
11:30 – 13:30
Aligning Reporting Best Practices Masterclass

Sep 7, 2021

08:00 London / 09:00 Paris / 15:00 Beijing

TUESDAY 07 SEPTEMBER - MARKETS DAY

Sep 7, 2021

08:00 London / 09:00 Paris / 15:00 Beijing

WEDNESDAY 08 SEPTEMBER - REGIONAL DAY

Preparing for the Coming Boom 

On Wednesday we spotlight our regional teams around the globe, starting in China to discuss the incredible journey of decarbonisation. Next, we dive into local actions and opportunities in ASEAN, Africa, and Brazil, Latin America launching the LAC State of the Market Report, and finally, the rising opportunities in the U.S.

Our Partners