The Climate Bonds Standard and Certification Scheme is a labelling scheme for bonds and loans. Rigorous scientific criteria ensure that bonds and loans with Certification, are consistent with the 2 degrees Celsius warming limit in the Paris Agreement. The Scheme is used globally by bond issuers, governments, investors and the financial markets to prioritise investments which genuinely contribute to addressing climate change.

Basic Chemicals




Timeline of Development:

August 2021: TWG Launch   




Status: The Basic Chemicals Criteria are in development.


Criteria: The Basic Chemicals Criteria lay out the requirements that Basic Chemicals production asset, projects must meet to be eligible for inclusion in a Certified Climate Bond and for company's on a credible transition path to issue transition labelled debt

The Criteria contain Mitigation Requirements, Adaptation & Resilience Requirements and Transition Requirements.

Bonds and loans linked to these eligible assets and projects will be aligned with the Paris Agreement 1.5oC limit.


Public consultation:

Public consultation is scheduled to begin in Dec 2021 and will last for 60 days.

A webinar to launch the consultation will be scheduled in December and will provide an opportunity for interested parties to learn more about the Criteria and to ask questions. The webinar will be recorded and will posted on this page. 


Why develop eligibility Criteria for basic chemical investments?

Improved guidance, such as these Criteria, will guide investors to invest in credible transition activity; guide asset owners to upgrade and guide policy makers to incentivise the transition and can be utilised by governments in setting regulation or recommendations for decarbonising the sector.


The Technical and Industry Working Groups (TWG and IWG)

To create the Criteria, we convened a Technical Working Group (TWG) and an Industry Working Group (IWG) with representatives from investors, public entities, research institutes and international policy bodies from around the world.  These experts ensure a robust pragmatic criteria is developed.


The Basic Chemicals Criteria Technical Working Group Members

EBRD Environment and Sustainability Department
Robert Adamczyk

Lund University

Dr. Fredric Bauer

University of Miskolc

Dr. Heriberto Cabezas


Dr. Jonathan Moncada

Heriot-Watt University

Dr. Denny K. S. Ng

Agora Energiewende

Dr. Cammilla Oliveira


Dr. Carina Oliveira


Imperial College London

Dr. Gbemi Oluleye


The Climate Solutions Community AIChE

Dr. Thomas Rhem

Oxford University

Dr. Kok Siew